CNY bake #3: Sugee (semolina) cookies

Last bake of cny this year! Just gonna make this short and sweet :)

SUGEE COOKIES. My fav cny snack of all time, despite it’s unhealthiness (like all other cny snacks). This cookie is really sweet, and melts in your mouth, but… crunchy at the same time! Like how’s that even possible right?? But IT IS! That’s why it’s so amazing :) From what I read through various sources, the crunchy-ness comes from the semolina flour used (hence sugee cookies. sugee = semolina), and the rich flavour it has comes from ghee (purified butter, instead of the usual butter)!

It’s those white little circles with the nice cracks on them that make yummy sugee cookies :) Actually, my fave sugee cookies come from Bengawan Solo. Their cookies are more of a square shape though, and quite thick! But now that I have this recipe…. don’t think I’ll be eating the Bengawan Solo ones for a while! They do taste pretty awesome, and good enough for me! (P.S. cny snacks can be really expensive!!)

So, these little goodies are super simple to make, with really few ingredients. You really only need a huge bowl and a wooden spoon. Alternatively, just one mixer. (Of course the oven too ;)) I used a bowl and spoon!

Recipe from basicbakes
Makes 40 large (2-tsp size) biscuits or 80 (1-tsp size) small ones.

Ingredients
200g ghee
150g icing sugar
1/2 tsp salt
150g semolina flour
200g all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
Method
Preheat your oven to 175°C (350°F). Line a sheet pan (or two) with baking paper.
In a large bowl using a wooden spoon (or by hand), mix all the ingredients until it forms a creamy, soft dough.
Roll teaspoon-portions of the dough into balls and place them on the sheet pan about 2 inches apart. 
(I used a teaspoon to scoop up portions of the dough and “dropped” them on the sheet pan. The dough was a little sticky so I used another spoon to scrap the dough onto the pan. Then used my hands to smoothen and round the little drops of dough.)
Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until the tops begin to crack.
(Mine actually took at least 20 minutes for the tops to begin cracking! So depending on your oven.)

Because these cookies are made of ghee, which have a longer shelf-life than butter, these cookies can be kept for quite some time :) If you’re looking for something sweet/have a sweet-tooth, this is a great yummy treat :D My mum actually found this a little too sweet, but then again, she has a very low sweet tolerance! The rest of my family loved it! :D

5 thoughts on “CNY bake #3: Sugee (semolina) cookies

    1. Hello! I probably wouldn’t be able to give you a definite answer cos I’m an amateur at baking myself! And I got this recipe from another site, which worked out alright for me! But I guess one suggestion I could give to prevent the cookies going flat would be to use cold ghee or chill the dough before baking next time? :)

  1. I tried this recipe indeed too sweet for me. The cookie actually grow when bake in oven. The cookie turned out nice . I didn’t chill my ghee.

  2. Dear Deb
    Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. I tried this recipe and it turned out very well.
    Eating this sugee cookies brings back memories of my childhood when my Punjabi neighbor used to bake it and give it to my family. This cookie is an all time favorite for me :)

Leave a Comment

