Crispy oatmeal choc chip cookies

Last weekend, I baked some delicious cookies using a recipe from food52 :D I just had to try it because it said “crispy” and I always love a crispy cookie ^^

No offence, but I have no idea why people like chewy cookies. It’s as though they are not baked properly (though I know in actual fact they are just intentionally underbaked, or use a set of ingredients that cause it to be deliberately chewy/soft in texture)! :P It’s like I leave a cookie that’s supposed to be crunchy out in the open, let all the humidity affect its texture…. and wah la! Soft chewy cookie! Hahahah, exaggerrated, but I guess you get my point on why I’m not a fan of chewy/soft/”non-crunchy” cookies (well ok, there are a few exceptions….).

2015-06-20 16.01.57

So for these awesomely crunchy cookies.…. :D (I mostly just copied the recipe from the link cos I didn’t make much changes haha)

Makes about 5 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon allspice
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (226g)
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (I used caster sugar instead)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips or chunks (I used 1 cup choc chips, 1 cup PB chips cos I ran out of choc chips heh :P)

Procedure

  1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees F/190 C. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda and spices. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a standing mixer, cream the butter and two sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl once.
  3. Add the flour and spices in three additions, beating until just combined and scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition. Do not overbeat!
  4. Stir in the oats and the chocolate chips, distributing evenly.
  5. Drop the dough in heaping tablespoons on parchment-lined baking sheets, keeping the cookies at least 2 inches apart. Flatten gently with the back of a spoon and bake for about 10 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through. The cookies are done when they turn lightly golden around the edges, and the tops look almost dry.
  6. Cool on the baking sheets for a minute, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely. The cookies are best still slightly warm, but you can successfully store them in an airtight container for up to a few days.

These cookies lasted less than a week in my house! :D Family and friends liked it… and so did I! :D I think I have pretty high standards for my bakes.. so, you know… they should be tasty! ^^

Leave a Comment

